JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated:: 23/08/2019

Panch Prayag





Panch Prayag





Panch Prayag is a set of five holy river confluences in the Garhwal side of Uttarakhand. According to a legend, as Ganga was descending on earth, Lord Shiva contained its enormous force by dividing it into various streams. After going through five major confluences, River Ganga becomes complete again and surges down to purify humanity. Prayag means confluence in Sanskrit language. Undertaking a Panch Prayag Yatra involves visiting each of these sacred convergences and getting blessed with their purity. 



Each of the mergers takes place in the most alluring and soothing spots of nature. As the descending streams crash into each other, they create the most beautiful roar, making for an extraordinary experience. 



The meeting points of revered streams of Ganga are worshipped by the devotees. Bathing at the points of confluences is considered as a religious cleansing and is also considered auspicious before visiting major holy shrines. 



The last rites for the departed relatives or loved ones can also be performed at theses sacred amalgamations in Himalayas. People undertake Panch Prayag Yatra in order to get their souls blessed at the legendary and naturally amazing sites of the earth. On the occasion of major Indian festivals such as Makara Sankranthi, Uttarayan and Basanth Panchami a large number of devotees are seen taking holy baths in the Panch Prayag. 



The five sacred river confluences are second most respected phenomenon after the Prayag of Allahabad. En route to Badrinath, Devprayag is the first confluence followed by Rudraprayag, Karnprayag, Nandprayag and Vishnuprayag. Five rivers Bhagirathi, Mandakini, Pindar, Nandakini, Dhauliganga pour into Alaknanda at different locations. 



All the unions take place at the banks of Alaknanda River. 




 Alakananda River
























Starting from the top, the Alakananda or the Vishnu Ganga River arising from the Satopanth Glacier meets with the Dhauli Ganga River near Badrinath to form the Vishnuprayag. The mighty stream then converges with the Mandakini River to form the Nandaprayag, named after King Nanda who conducted the divine ritual pyre here. Downstream, the Alakananda River is joined in by the Pindar River to create the Karnaprayag confluence, coined because Karna performed his Sun meditation here. The Rudraprayag is however, the most aesthetic. The green Mandakini River from Kedarnath tributes to the main Alakananda River. It is at this confluence that Lord Shiva performed his cataclysmic dance on Lady Sati’s demise. Further down the slope, near the foothills of the Garhwali Himalayas, lies the most pious confluence of all – the Devprayag. Here the gentle & massive Alakananda River converges with the roaring & swift Bhagirathi River, originating from Gomukh Glacier, to give birth to the holy Ganges.