Envis Centre, Ministry of Environment & Forest, Govt. of India

Printed Date: Saturday, March 2, 2024

Seshachalam Hills






The Seshachalam hills are hilly ranges and a part of the Eastern Ghats in the Andhra Pradesh state of India. The hills are also known as Venkatachalam.



The ranges were formed during the Precambrian era (3.8 billion to 540 million years ago). Minerals contained in these hills include sandstone and shale interbedded with limestone. The ranges are bounded by the Rayalaseema uplands to the west and northwest, and the Nandyal valley to the north.



Tirupati, a major pilgrimage town, is located in the hills. The hill contains seven peaks namely,

      1.    Vrishabhadri — Hill of Nandi, the vahana of Lord Shiva

      2.    Anjanadri — Hill of Lord Hanuman.

      3.    Neeladri — Hill of Neela Devi

      4.    Garudadri or Garudachalam — Hill of Garuda, the vahana of Lord Vishnu

      5.    Seshadri or Seshachalam — Hill of Sesha, the dasa of Lord Vishnu

      6.    Narayanadri — Hill of Narayana. Srivari Padalu are located here

      7.    Venkatadri — Hill of Lord Venkateswara



The seven peaks are said to represent the seven hoods of Lord Adisesha. According to the Puranas, Lord Vishnu was enthralled by the charm of the Seshachalam hills and started meditating here and therefore he is the Lord of the seven hills. 





In the year 2010, these hills were designated as a Biosphere Reserve. It has large reserves of red sandalwood which is used in medicines, soaps and spiritual rituals. The Srivenkateshwara National Park is located in these ranges. The famous Natural Arch, Tirumala hills, is also a part of the Seshachalam hills.


Sheshachalam Trekking Services



Seshachalam Biosphere